# ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE NATIONAL ELECTORAL COMMISSION AFTER THE PRESS CONFERENCE HELD ON 21 NOVEMBER 2010 AT 8:30 P.M. CET AT THE NEC'S HEADQUARTERS

On 21<sup>st</sup> November July 2010 at 8:30 p.m. CET at the headquarters of the National Electoral Commission, the fourth press conference on the day of elections for municipal councils, county councils and regional assemblies, as well as for the positions of reeves, mayors and presidents of cities was held.

Conference participants:

Deputy Chairperson of NEC: Jan Kacprzak,

Member of NEC: Stanisław Zabłocki.

Deputy Chairperson of the National Electoral Commission, Judge Jan Kacprzak informed the journalists that on the basis of data obtained from 25 462 precinct electoral commissions, the National Electoral Commission had issued the "Announcement of the National Electoral Commission of 21st November 2010 on the number of voters included in the register of voters and the number of voters to whom ballot papers were issued in the elections for municipal councils, county councils and regional assemblies, as well as for the positions of reeves, mayors and presidents of cities by 7.00 p.m. CET on 21st November 2010."

Judge Jan Kacprzak announced that by 7.00 p.m. CET 13 231 364 ballot papers were issued, which constitutes 43.23% of the total number of eligible voters. Next, he presented aggregate information by provinces. The highest turnout was registered in the following provinces: świętokrzyskie (50.10%), podkarpackie (47.54%) and lubelskie (46.35%); the lowest, in turn, in opolskie (37.79%) and dolnośląskie (40.07%) provinces.

Member of NEC, Judge Stanisław Zabłocki summarised the turnout in 18 largest cities. The highest turnout was registered in Rzeszów (44.77%), Warsaw (42.00%), Olsztyn (40.61%) and Kraków (40.44%); the lowest – in Łódź (30.46%) and in Wrocław (30.51%). The highest proportion of voters took part in the voting in the commune of Koszarawa (żywiecki county, śląskie province), where the turnout reached 76.77%.

Judge Jan Kacprzak added that so far the voting had not been interrupted in any of the electoral commissions.

Next press conference will take place at the NEC's headquarters around 10.30 p.m. CET, during which information about the turnout and course of voting as of 10.00 p.m. CET, i.e. the end of voting, will be presented.

Below you can find the content of the said announcement:

#### ANNOUNCEMENT

#### OF THE NATIONAL ELECTORAL COMMISSION

#### of 21st November 2010

on the number of voters included in the register of voters and the number of voters to whom ballot papers were issued in the elections for municipal councils, county councils and regional assemblies, as well as for the positions of reeves, mayors and presidents of cities by 7.00 p.m.

### CET on 21st November 2010

### I. Aggregate countrywide information

On the basis of data obtained from 25 462 out of 25 464 precinct electoral commissions, the National Electoral Commission announces that as of **7.00 p.m.** CET on 21<sup>st</sup> November 2010:

- 1. The number of voters eligible to vote in the elections, i.e. the number of voters included in the register of voters in precincts from which data was obtained, amounted to 30 604 774.
- 2. Ballot papers were issued to 13 231 364, eligible voters, which constitutes 43.23% of the total number of people eligible to vote in the elections.

#### II. Aggregate information by province:

No.	Province	Number of precincts		Number of	Number of	
		in total	from which data was obtained	people entitled to vote	ballot papers issued	% (6:5)
1	2	3	4	5	6	7
1.	dolnośląskie	1 818	1 818	2 337 790	936 748	40.07
2.	kujawsko-pomorskie	1 398	1 397	1 648 036	678 460	41.17
3.	lubelskie	1 803	1 803	1 755 022	813 429	46.35
4.	lubuskie	664	664	809 598	342 001	42.24
5.	łódzkie	1 713	1 713	2 064 347	875 322	42.4
6.	małopolskie	2 279	2 279	2 604 397	1 182 773	45.41
7.	mazowieckie	3 298	3 297	4 150 885	1 904 283	45.88
8.	opolskie	810	810	828 678	313 158	37.79
9.	podkarpackie	1 678	1 678	1 692 479	804 639	47.54
10.	podlaskie	877	877	962 136	429 346	44.62
11.	pomorskie	1 299	1 299	1 755 224	731 244	41.66
12.	śląskie	2 710	2 710	3 737 669	1 463 375	39.15
13.	świętokrzyskie	939	939	1 048 706	525 372	50.1
14.	warmińsko-mazurskie	1 009	1 009	1 148 385	506 037	44.07
15.	wielkopolskie	2 121	2 121	2 703 132	1 155 670	42.75
16.	zachodniopomorskie	1 048	1 048	1 358 290	569 507	41.93

## III. Aggregate information by selected cities:

No.	City	Number of precincts in total	Number of precincts from which data was obtained	Number of people entitled to vote	Number of ballot papers issued	% (6:5)
1	2	3	4	5	6	7
1.	city of Wrocław	299	299	498 750	152 173	30.51
2.	city of Bydgoszcz	202	201	285 488	99 717	34.93
3.	city of Toruń	122	122	159 593	56 589	35.46
4.	city of Lublin	211	211	274 712	95 304	34.69
5.	city of Gorzów Wielkopolski	68	68	99 605	33 591	33.72
6.	city of Zielona Góra	61	61	93 370	36 961	39.59
7.	city of Łódź	398	398	594 938	181 198	30.46
8.	city of Kraków	459	459	584 663	236 415	40.44
9.	capital city of Warsaw	857	856	1 340 326	562 916	42
10.	city of Opole	72	72	97 382	32 056	32.92
11.	city of Rzeszów	92	92	139 298	62 360	44.77
12.	city of Białystok	164	164	228 481	86 348	37.79
13.	city of Gdańsk	216	216	359 813	120 677	33.54
14.	city of Katowice	165	165	252 081	87 672	34.78
15.	city of Kielce	91	91	165 249	65 220	39.47
16.	city of Olsztyn	95	95	134 665	54 685	40.61
17.	city of Poznań	300	300	432 041	144 777	33.51
18.	city of Szczecin	200	200	317 982	104 001	32.71

**IV.** In comparison with the number of people eligible to vote, the highest turnout was registered in the commune of Koszarawa, żywiecki county, śląskie province – 76.77%.

Deputy Chairperson

of the National Electoral Commission

Jan Kacprzak