ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE NATIONAL ELECTORAL COMMISSION AFTER THE PRESS CONFERENCE HELD ON 5th DECEMBER 2010 AT 9:00 A.M. CET AT THE NEC'S HEADQUARTERS

On 5th December 2010 at 9:00 a.m. CET at the headquarters of the National Electoral Commission, the first press conference on the day of the second round of elections for the positions of reeves, mayors and presidents of cities was held

Conference participants: Chairperson of NEC: Stefan Jaworski Member of NEC: Włodzimierz Ryms Member of NEC: Kazimierz Czaplicki – Head of the National Electoral Office.

Chairperson of NEC, Judge Stefan Jaworski informed the journalists that the voting had started as planned at 8.00 a.m. CET. There were two cases of a slight delay in opening of the polling stations. Runoff is taking place in 728 communes. In 10 communes, the voting has been postponed until 19th December 2010 due to withdrawal of one of the candidates. Such is the situation in the following communes: Jerzmanowice Przeginia (małopolskie province), Janowiec (lubelskie province), Wiżajny (podlaskie province), Jeziora Wielkie (kujawsko-pomorskie province), Rychnowy (pomorskie province), Marianowo (zachodniopomorskie province), Rajgród (podlaskie province), Ostróda (warmińsko-mazurskie province), Piechowice (dolnośląskie province), Jasionówka (podlaskie province). The runoff is taking place in 573 communes with under 20 thousand inhabitants, in 123 communes with over 20 thousand inhabitants and in 32 cities and towns holding county rights. In the second round, 401 reeves, 272 mayors and 55 presidents of cities are being elected.

Judge Włodzimierz Ryms announced detailed information about commencement of the voting, which took place at 8.00 a.m. CET in almost all polling stations. Separate precincts in hospitals and remands constitute exceptions; there, precinct commissions can pass a resolution to change the hours of voting. This, however, does not have any influence on the course and time of voting countrywide. There have been two minor incidents related to opening of polling stations. In Miechów (małopolskie province), the polling station was opened with a 15-minute delay due to the frost. In Płock (mazowieckie province), there has been an 18-minute delay caused by absence of the person responsible for opening the polling station. During that time, in both locations there have not been any voters, therefore the delays did not result in prolongation of the voting time.

Moreover, Judge Włodzimierz Ryms announced that there had been around a dozen of cases of violating election silence, including tearing off or placing campaign posters or placards, distributing leaflets. Several perpetrators were seized by the police.

Judge Stefan Jaworski reiterated that the next press conference would take place at 11.30 a.m. CET at the NEC's headquarters, during which information about the turnout and course of voting until 10.00 a.m. CET would be presented.